Supporting the advancement of women and men across all communications backgrounds

CONNECT WITH US FacebookTwitterLinked InEmail

AWC-DC Matrix Award

Hall of Fame Inductees

2002: Elizabeth Campbell
Founder of WETA

AWC-DC Matrix Professional Achievement Award Winners

This program for professional recognition was introduced at the 1997 annual Matrix event. The Matrix program has honored the following communicators:

2013: Dorothy Gilliam
2011: Donna Vincent Roa
Managing Partner & Chief Strategist, Vincent Roa Group
2010: Gloria Story Dittus
Chairman, Story Partners
2010: Andrea Roane
Weekday Morning Anchor, WUSA9
2009: Michelle Singletary
Columnist, The Washington Post
2009: Kate Perrin
CEO, PRofessional Solutions, LLC
2008: Eleanor Clift
Contributing Editor, Newsweek; Columnist,
2007: Helen Thomas
Hearst News Service
2007: JC Hayward
W*USA-TV, Channel 9
2006: Cokie Roberts
ABC-7 and National Public Radio
2006: Margery Kraus
President & CEO, APCO Worldwide
2005: Andrea Mitchell
Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent, NBC News
2004: Jamie Foster Brown
Publisher, Sister-2-Sister Magazine
2004: Maria Rodriguez
Co-Founder, Vanguard Communications
2003: Kathleen Matthews
2003: Victoria (Torie) Clarke
former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Public Affairs
2002: Maureen Bunyan
Veteran television news broadcaster and the primary news anchor for ABC-7
2002: Diane Rehm
Popular weekday-morning talk show host for WAMU
2001: Rita Cosby
Three-time EMMY winner for investigative reporting
2000: Karen Jurgensen
Editor of USA Today
1999: Susan Robinson King
Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs at the Department of Labor
1998: Deborah Tannen
linguist and best-selling author
1997: Judy Woodruff
CNN News Anchor

Previous Matrix Luncheon Guest Speakers

Previous guest speakers at the annual Matrix event have been:

1996: Charlayne Hunter-Gault
News Hour National Correspondent
1995: Rebecca Walker
writer and activist
1994: Diane Rehm
Radio Talk Show Host
1993: Madeleine Kunin
Deputy Education Secretary
1992: Ellen Malcolm
Emily’s List Founder
1991: Helen Thomas
UPI Bureau Chief

Misc. Archives

Esther Dyson

Anna Deavere -Smith

Lucy A. Dalglish